Buddhism Philosophy & Teachings

Schools of Buddhism | Introduction

We will give next a general historical account of the chief branches of Buddhist thought in India such as Vaibhasikas, Sautrantikas, Yogacaras and Madhyamikas and briefly show their relation to the central teachings of the Buddha such as three fundamental principles of Impermanence (anitya), Sorrow (duhkha), and Non-self (anātman).

8 obstacles to practice Buddhism

Buddhism philosophy states that all beings have the Buddha nature. But not all beings are able to reach Buddhahood, enlightenment. To reach enlightenment one has to have a beneficial human body. It is the basis to reach enlightenment. There are many other beings like hungry ghosts and hell beings that are not able to reach enlightenment and many humans in unbeneficial circumstances as well. There...

5 types of potential to reach Buddhahood

We use to say that all living beings have a potential to reach enlightenment. This is what the Third Noble Truth of Path to Enlightenment assumes. Although due to our past karma, not all beings have the same abilities and potential to reach the realization. For this reason Buddha Shakyamuni were giving different teachings for different people with different level of realizations, abilities and hence...

Nirmanakaya - 3 physical manifestations of enlightenment

Nirmanakaya is another manifestation of dharmakaya - in physical form. Nirmana is a Sanskrit term which means to manifest in a form. Not each form would be Nirmanakaya, but the Body of Truth – a completely purified form which carries the essence of enlightenment, dharmakaya, and the highest wisdom. Often it refers to physical manifestations and acts of great enlightened teachers as Buddha Shakyamuni or...

How to attain Enlightenment

I felt compelled to explain to People an often seen confusion - contrary to wide spread belief that Buddhism is about "being good", morals, ethics or may be complaining about sufferings, and similar sentimentality - I had to point that it is not.Buddhism is about the Buddha state of mind - about the great experience of enlightenment and liberation from all conditional states.

Sambhogakaya - 5 Wisdoms and Buddha families

Sambhogakaya can be translated as “the body of perfect enjoyment”. “Sam” means perfect, “bhoga” means enjoyment and kaya is roughly translated as body. Sambhogakaya can be understood as “the body of teaching”, but not really in the sense of some doctrine or speaking.Here we mean rather some teaching or wisdom that is intrinsically contained in the body of enlightenment and becomes evident in its completeness...

Dharmakaya - the ever present Body of Enlightenment

Dharmakaya is the Body of Enlightenment, which is characterised by emptiness and purity. When Mahayana Buddhists think about Buddha – they think about eternally present enlightened Dharmakaya, not exactly the historical figure of Buddha Shakyamuni

15 Karmapa on benefits of Om Mani Peme Hung mantra

Here is an excerpt from the writing of the Fifteenth Gyalwa Karmapa Khakyab Dorje (1871–1922), the Head Lama of the Karma Kagyu tradition, on the meaning and benefits of Chenrezig’s mantra OM MANI PEME HUNG. Karmapa has given this commentary on a Four-Armed Chenrezig practice at the request of two of his female disciples:

Dharma in Sautrantika Buddhist philosophy

We can conclude that the most general meaning of the notion of “dharma” is an element from what the existence consists. But because the Buddhist philosophy recognizes altogether 75 types of those elements, it would not be far from truth to name each one of them or even all of them together by word “dharma”. Particular meaning becomes more clear upon viewing it in particular...

Dharma classifications to āyatana and dhātu

“Āyatana” means “Entrance” (or “doors”); here it is “entrance” for a consciousness and psychic elements. Consciousness never arise by itself, by itself it would be pure and without any content and we hardly would call it a consciousness. It is always supported by 2 elements: the source of knowledge (sensation) and its corresponding object.


Answering the question why Buddha speaking on the objects of enquiry observed them in 3 ways, i.e. divided them in Aggregates (Skandha), Bases (of Consciousness) and classes (dhātu) of elements, Vasubandhu in AK1; 20 says: “Living beings use to have delusions of 3 kinds: Some are in illusions in regards to psychic phenomena, viewing it as an atman, “I”, others – in regards to matter,...