Classic Vedic & Hindu texts

Mahā Nārāyaṇa Upanishad

Here you can read the Mahā Nārāyaṇa Upanishad; full text translated in English together with Romanized Sanskrit text and very detailed commentaries done by Swāmi Vimalānanda of Śrī Ramakrishna Math, done according to other historically significant commentaries on Mahā Nārāyaṇa Upanishad and Taittirīya Āraṇyaka and Brāhmaṇa, from which many mantras of Mahā Nārāyaṇa Upanishad have originated. Mahā Nārāyaṇa Upanishad belongs to Krishna Yajur Veda.

Śrī Hayagrīva Stotra | Swami Deśikan

Śrī Hayagrīva Stotra by Swami Deśikan. Lord Hayagrīva is one of the Avatars of Para Vāsudeva. In this Embodiment, the Śrī Hayagrīva’s face alone is that of a majestic horse and the body is like that of a human, except that it is pure sāttvic emanation. He is the embodiment of Prāṇava (Oṁkāra). He is the First Lord of all Vidyās (wisdoms). Śrī Hayagrīva recovered the Vedas and returned them to Brahma Deva and restarted His Yoganidrā as Hayagrīva.

Śrī Stuti | Swāmi Deśikan

Śrī Stuti is a devotional text dedicated to Śrī, our Divine Mother and consort of Lord Nārāyaṇa, also known as Lakshmi Devi or in South-Indian tradition of Śrī Vaiṣṇavism often known as Perundevi Thayar. It is believed that reading and studying Śrī Stuti can bestow many kinds of riches to devotees – both spiritual and material. It is also filled with profound philosophical and devotional meaning. While there have been several texts known as Śrī Stuti, this is the one handed down through Swami Vedanta Deśikan, one of the most revered Gurus of Śrī Vaiṣṇava paramparā of 13th century.

Śrīnivāsa Kalyāṇam story

Śrīnivāsa Kalyāṇam The Story of Lord Veṅkaṭeśvara (Śrīnivāsa, incarnation of Lord Vishnu) and his marriage with Śrī Lakshmi Devī and Padmāvatī (Bhu-devī) The story of Śrīnivāsa Kalyāṇam spans over 3 eons (Yugas) relating to incidents from Trētā Yuga (Rāma’s period), to Dvāpara Yuga (Krishna’s period), and finally to Kālī Yuga (Veṅkaṭeśvara). Kālī Yuga started soon after the Mahābhārata period. There was a general decline in morality and ethics amongst people. Several sages began a yajña (sacrifice) with the guidance of Kaśyapa Rishi to ward off the impending evil.

Śrīmad Bhāgavatam Purāṇa

The Bhāgavata Purāṇa (Devanagari: भागवतपुराण, also known as Śrīmad Bhāgavatam or Bhāgavata, literally meaning Divine-Eternal Tales of The Supreme Lord) is one of the Maha (Sanskrit: 'great') Purāṇic texts of Hinduism, with its focus on bhakti (religious devotion) to Supreme God Vishnu (Nārāyaṇa), primarily focusing on Krishna. The Bhagavata Purāṇa includes many stories well known in Hinduism, including the various avatars of Vishnu and the life and pastimes of his incarnation, Krishna or Svayam Bhagavan.

Vishnu Purana online

The Vishnu Purāṇa is one of the earliest of the eighteen major Purāṇas (“ancient stories”) revered by the Hindus. It is considered to be one of the most important Purāṇas and for this reason is referred to by the name Purāṇa-ratna, which means “Gem of Purāṇas.” Like some of the other Purāṇas, the Vishnu Purāṇa is presented in the form of a dialogue, in this instance with the sage Parāśara teaching his disciple Maitreya how Vishnu, as the Supreme Being, takes care of his devotees and how one should evolve spiritually for the attainment of liberation.

Śrīmad Vālmīki Rāmāyaṇa - an English translation of which you can read online following the links below – is the oldest Epic of the Hindu literature and philosophy, far more ancient as the famous Mahābhārata Epic, which is much later work. According to traditional narrative Rāmāyaṇa describes events which have taken place in the Tretā Yuga, second of the four eons (yugas) of Hindu chronology.

Śvetāśvatara Upanishad

The Śvetāśvatara Upanishad, which belongs to the Taittirīya or Black Yajur Veda, may be regarded as one of the authoritative Upanishads which form the source of the Vedanta philosophy. Its verses are quoted profusely in all Vedāntic treatises. The name seems to have been derived from the sage Śvetāśvatara, who, as we read at the end of the last chapter, imparted the Upanishad to a company of world-renouncing hermits.

Brihadāraṇyaka Upanishad

Brihadāraṇyaka Upanishad forms the concluding portion of the Śatapatha Brāhmaṇa of the Śukla (White) Yajur Veda. The literal meaning of the term Brihadāraṇyaka Upanishad is the “Great Forest Upanishad.” Śankarāchārya, in the Introduction to his commen­tary, says that this Upanishad, consisting of six parts, is called “Great” (Brihat) because of its length and profundity, and “Forest” (Āraṇyaka) because of its having been taught in a forest. The theme of the book, as of all Vedāntic treatises, is the absolute identity of Ātman and Brahman.

Chhāṇdogya Upanishad | English Classic

The Sāma Veda includes among its treasures the Chhāṇdogya Brāhmaṇa, consisting of ten parts; of these, the last eight constitute the Chhāṇdogya Upanishad. In turn, the eight parts of the Upanishad may be broadly divided into two sections. The first, consisting of five parts, deals with upāsanā, or ritualistic worship with emphasis on meditation. The second section, of three parts, discusses certain fundamental doctrines of the Vedanta philo¬sophy